Allegan General Hospital Foundation Awards 2019 Spring Scholarships


The Allegan General Hospital Foundation is excited to announce the 20 recipients of its 2019 Spring Scholarships Awards. These awards are given out to graduating high school seniors pursuing a career in healthcare, as well as children of Allegan Healthcare Group employees and employees of Allegan Healthcare Group to support training and higher education studies in healthcare.

The Foundation awarded $12,900 in scholarships during a ceremony held at Allegan General Hospital on Thursday, May 30. High school students receiving awards from $500 - $1,000 each are: Leah Brady, Plainwell High School; Grace Gleason, Bangor High School; Morgan Haverdink, Hamilton High School; Macy Ilmberger, Fennville High School; Zachary Lang, Allegan High School; Jennifer Martinez-Mendez, Bloomingdale High School; Angie Nouna, Otsego High School; Madelline Waite, Allegan High School; and Madalyn Whitley, Wayland Union High School.

Allegan Healthcare Group team members receiving scholarships are: Seth Belden (Gobles), Pain Management; Courtney Cook (Gobles), Registration; Andrea DeSantiago (Paw Paw), Float Charge Nurse; Anna Kiekover (Paw Paw), Emergency Department; Michelle Ruthruff (Allegan), Perioperative Services; Darci Samuel (Allegan), House Supervision; Dana Shek (Allegan), Emergency Department; Clint Weaver (Allegan), Information Technology; and Nicole Wright (Martin) Allegan Medical Clinic.

“It is an absolute privilege to be able to award these well-deserving students and employees on behalf of the Allegan General Hospital Foundation,” said Jen Garcia, Executive Director of the Allegan General Hospital Foundation. “We received a record response to our call for scholarship applications and our Scholarship Committee had a difficult task of selecting the top recipients. Our most important asset in health care is the team of dedicated and talented people who provide care around the clock. It is vitally important we invest in our current and future health care providers to meet a growing demand for health services.”

Children of Allegan Healthcare Group employees, who received scholarship awards include: Johnathan Doman, who is currently attending Northern Michigan University pursuing a degree in Biochemistry/Pre-med; and Amanda Torres, attending Grace College pursuing a Masters of Arts degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling.

The Allegan General Hospital Foundation awards scholarships twice yearly. Awards to high school students are presented each spring.

“It is through the generosity and commitment from our community of caring donors that these scholarship funds are made available each year,” stated Garcia.

The scholarship fund is made up of the Schuyler Mellen Education Endowment Fund, Marie Hall Nursing Scholarship Fund, Debra Rae Daniels Memorial Scholarship Fund, Chester and Sharon Oisten Scholarship Fund, Francis Hamm Memorial Scholarship Fund, and a general fund maintained by the Allegan General Hospital Foundation. The Allegan General Hospital Foundation invites and accepts financial gifts to help further the mission of “Investing in the Health of Our Community.” For more information about the Allegan General Hospital Foundation, please visit or call (269) 686-4234.

Back to News Listing